Guerrilla Fitness

Or, how a SAHM works on her fitness.

push-ups-888024_640In my pre-baby life, I was a self-proclaimed gym rat. I spent anywhere from 10-12 hours a week lifting weights, training for races, blowing off steam…and I loved it. The gym was my happy place. If I had something going on in the evening, I’d get up at 4:30am and do my workout in the morning. Sometimes I’d get up and run 4-5 miles in the morning, then go to the gym after work and lift for another 30 minutes. And, I kept this “pace” throughout most of my first pregnancy.

Then, my son was born. I had actually canceled my gym membership a couple of months prior because I had lost my job and couldn’t justify the monthly expense. But, I had managed to build my own little home gym, so I fully intended on returning to my 1-2 hour a day workout regimen once I was cleared by my doc. Thinking back on this makes me laugh…and cry a little on the inside.

I don’t know when I thought I was going to have the time to do this. I guess I was banking on my son being this marathon napper or something. Who knows. But, when reality set in, I realized I was probably going to have to get a little creative to get in some workout time. Thus, my practice of “guerrilla fitness” was born.

Think of it as the fitness version of guerrilla marketing – finding unconventional ways to work fitness into your daily routine in order to reach your fitness goals. So, what are some of my guerrilla fitness methods?

Dance Party!

mother-429158_640One way to get in a bit of a workout at home, without any equipment and WITH your kiddo, is dancing! Have a dance party! Dancing can burn upwards of 200 calories in 30 minutes. The key is to choose upbeat music and keep your movement fast to match the tempo of the music. Use your arms AND your legs. Keeping your arm movements high in the air (above the height of your heart) will help keep your heart rate up. And – bonus – kids love music and dancing, so they’ll be totally into dancing with you! If your kids are anything like mine, they’ll do more running around than dancing, but they’re expending energy, so it’s all good.

Do you have dance parties with your kiddos?

Stay tuned for even more guerrilla fitness ideas in the coming days!

Leave a Reply

