Farewell, sweet chai latte

12711154_10156695525910647_6714666792889455448_oI have never given up anything for Lent. I’ve been active in various churches my entire life, and I consider myself a fairly religious person, but I have never given up anything for Lent. That’s probably because I grew up (and am still a part of) the United Methodist Church. I love my church – don’t get me wrong – but Methodists are not known for their great demonstrations of devotion to their faith, like fasting or giving up things for Lent.

For some reason, this year, I’ve decided to participate in this tradition. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because lately, I’ve felt as if I’ve lost control of some of my willpower. I used to be pretty proud of my ability to “stay strong” when confronted with temptation. It seems though, ever since I’ve been a stay at home mama, that willpower has gone out the window.

“I’ll make myself a healthy protein shake for lunch. That’ll help me keep my calories in check today. Oh – there’s a cupcake leftover from hubby’s birthday party? I’ll eat that, too.”

“I know I said just ONE hershey kiss after dinner, but another 1 (or 2. or 3.) certainly won’t hurt.”

I blame my lingering 10 lbs of baby weight on this lack of willpower. And, I now blame my decision to say “sayonara” to my beloved Starbucks chai latte on lack of willpower as well. Yes, I have given up Starbucks for Lent. If you know me, you know this will be tough. The weekly planning meeting I have on Tuesday mornings is always a high point in my week, and one reason is it’s one of my few chances to enjoy a hot cup of yum without one of the Babes hanging on me or trying to steal a sip. I’ve been known to drive out of my way when running errands or taking the Little Man to a class simply to hit up a Starbucks drive-thru on my way home. It’s a little frightening how much I love the stuff.

And, now I’ve said goodbye to it. At least for 40 days. My waistline will thank me. My checking account will thank me. Heck, even my not-as-white-as-it-used-to-be smile will thank me. Think I’ll make it? We’ll see.

Have you given up anything for Lent? Chat me up with a comment!

Leave a Reply

