How Did We Get Here?

I’d like to introduce myself.

My name is Mindy, and I am a newly certified Fitness Instructor for FIT4MOM in Columbus, OH.

And a stay-at-home-mom.

(Also the director of a church praise band.)

I used to be a marketing director for high-profile arts organizations.

So, how’d I end up here? Funny you should ask…

In 2009, the arts organization I worked for for 10 years was acquired by another, larger arts organization. Since the larger organization already had marketing people, I was given the ol’ “thank you for your 10 years of service” and my position was eliminated. I was devastated. I loved that job and the people I worked with. I felt like I would never find anything else and would be living in a van-down-by-the-river in a matter of days.

Fast-forward six months, and I was offered a marketing manager position with another arts organization. I worked there for a year-and-a half, when I was offered a marketing director position with yet another arts organization. I worked there for a year when I found out I was pregnant with my son. I was ecstatic to be starting my family and have a job I knew my kids would be proud to tell their friends about. I mean, what kid wouldn’t love to tell their friends they can get tickets to see Wicked for free, right?

In an unbelievable turn of events, my organization was acquired by another, larger arts organization. (Yes, the same one who acquired my first organization.) And – you guessed it – I was again told my job was being eliminated. Wow, did it all feel so familiar, but with one HUGE difference. I was 7 months pregnant.

If I freaked out the first time I was downsized, I had a full-blown panic attack the second time. What was I going to do? How was I going to find a job when I was about to have a baby?

My husband and I sat down, did some figuring, and decided I would stay at home with the baby, at least for a little while. I was ecstatic. I had been getting burnt out on the arts marketing gig and was ready for a change.

My son was born, and I was instantly in love, but battled some very troubling post-partum depression. I won’t go into details – I’ll save that for another post. In a nutshell, I was a type-A person finding it immensely difficult to let go of my structured, scheduled lifestyle. But, I slowly figured it out (sort of), and started to find my own way in this crazy stay-at-home world.

Then I found out I was pregnant again. Yes, we had decided we were ready for baby #2, but it all happened much faster than I thought it would. I was immediately worried about the impending post-partum depression I could experience again. I knew I couldn’t sit at home with my son and let myself be sedentary during my 2nd pregnancy. After all, I was at the gym lifting weights until 36 weeks during my 1st pregnancy. But, finding a way to get to the gym with an 18 month old when you’re 4 months pregnant is easier said than done. That’s when I found FIT4MOM and Stroller Strides.

I took my free class, and was instantly hooked. An amazing community of women, all of us dealing with the joys and sorrows of motherhood and passionate about getting/staying in shape…how could I not love it?

To make a long story short (too late), a little over a year later, the opportunity to become a FIT4MOM instructor came about, and now here I am! I was extremely passionate about fitness before my babies came along…to have the chance to share that passion with my kids as well as other moms and their kids is such a dream! I hope you’ll enjoy this journey with me. I don’t know where it will lead, but I’m sure we’ll have fun!

Leave a Reply

